We are going to Taiwan!

After  MM complaining Chinese is useless,  I also noticed another change — it has become harder for them to form complete sentences.  Their  listening comprehension is still good.  I continue to speak mandarin to them.  However, they have stopped wanting to speak on the phone with grand parents.    I think we are long overdue for a visit to Taiwan and see the grand parents.

I just bought the tickets and announce our pending travel plans to the children.  They are so excited!  I reminded them that we are going to speak Mandarin to Yeh Yeh (grand pa) and Nai Nai (grand ma) the whole time, and we’d better start practicing.   They all agreed.  MM even asked if they gets to go to schools in Taiwan.  mmm, that is not a bad idea. Unfortunately, we are only staying for two weeks.  Maybe next time we will stay longer and send them to summer camp.

I hope with the immersion environment, it will renew my children’s interest with Chinese.  I plan to take MM and AA to train stations and visit night markets.    This way, hopefully, MM will see how useful Chinese characters are.

I purchased the tickets and announced our travel plan to the children.

One response to “We are going to Taiwan!

  1. Hello, I have 2 daughters…I am us born, and my wife is from Taiwan , she only speaks to the girls in mandarin. I speak to them in what little I know…probably just teaching them bad tones. I love your site. We want them to speak Chinese…they seem to understand slot, but refuse to speak it.

Leave a comment